Faculty of Science

The Department of Computer Science was established by the Gulu University Senate in 2003 to educate students in Computing Science disciplines. The Department currently offers two undergraduate programmes: Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (BCS), and Bachelor of Information and Communications Technology (BICT). Two graduate programmes have been developed and will be mounted after accreditation by National Council for Higher Education. Research in the Department is structured under three research groups: Future Internet, Information Management, and Computer Simulation and Gaming.
To be a Centre of Excellence in Computing in the Sub-Saharan Africa through Advancement and Promotion of Scholarship, Research and Community Service
To provide solid,dynamic and excellent education in all computer related fields. Our main task is to produce scientists in all branches of the computing field who are professionally competent, responsible and innovative in solving real-world problems

Department of Computer Science

  • Master of Science in Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICT4D) - Weekends / Full-time
  • Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (BSc.) - Weekdays / Full-time
  • Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (Gaming and Animation) - Weekdays / Full-time
  • Bachelor of Information and Communication Technology - Weekdays & Weekends / Full-time
  • Bachelor of Information and Communication Technology (Business Computing) - Weekdays & Weekends / Full-time
  • Ordinary Diploma in Computer Science

Department of Biology

  • Bachelor of Science Education (Biological) - Weekdays / Full-time

Department of Chemistry

  • Bachelor of Science in Applied Chemistry - Weekdays / Full-time

Department of Physics

  • Bachelor of Science Education (Physical) - Weekdays / Full-time

Department of Sport Science

  • Bachelor of Science Education (Sport Science) - Weekdays / Full-time





Head: Mr. Festo Kiraga, MSc-Physics Makerere University
Mobile Tel: +256-782141331

Head: Dr. Innocent Achaye, PhD, University of Cape Town
Mobile Tel: +256-78392326

Head: Dr. Opiro Robert, PhD Gulu University/Yale University
Mobile Tel: +256-78310215

Head: Mr. Samuel Nsamba, MSc (Math) Makerere University
Mobile Tel: +256-782371934

Sports Science
Head: Mr. Ricky Ojara, MSc (Sports Science) Kyambogo University
Mobile Tel: +256-782152624

Message from the Dean

The Faculty of Science is one of the Six (6) Faculties at Gulu University that is located in Northern Uganda, Within Gulu city . The Faculty was established in 2008, following the split of the former Faculty of Science Education into Faculty of Science and Faculty of Education and Humanities. The Faculty stands out as a pillar for technology development and adoption at Gulu University.

The Vision and Mission of the Faculty of Science is in tandem with that of the University; to play a leading role in post-war reconstruction and rehabilitation of the region through the provision of human resources in the areas of Basic and Applied Sciences, technology, research and other services. It is also in conformity with the Strategic Plan of the University aimed at producing high level human resource that can effectively participate in solving the social and economic problems of the country.



Connect with us

Gulu University, P.O.Box 166
Laroo Division, Gulu City

  • dummy+256-471-32095

  • dummy+256-471-432648

  • dummy pro@gu.ac.ug


Enter your email and we'll send you more information

. ©2023 Gulu University. All Rights Reserved